Home > Rant > Overlord Broadcast #2

Overlord Broadcast #2

May 18, 2009

Dear BJP,

While you recover from a crushing defeat and go into introspective mode, try to stay away from blogs written by supposedly pro-BJP bloggers. They are full of advice, and god-damn it, they’ll give it to you.

With a handful of notable exceptions (you might still want to read Offstumped, but avoid his comment feed), most of these bloggers have no clue whatsoever about the elections, campaigning, and ground realities.

With hardly any exception, they were euphoric till about 8:52 AM IST on May 16 (mainstream media changed tune a few minutes before that). Seriously, of all kinds of political analysts, bloggers were the last to get the memo on this election’s results.

In fact, here is a rule of thumb: If a post mentions any of the following words, just close the browser and take a short walk outside:

  • Obama
  • Internet
  • Social Media
  • Twitter
  • Blogs/Bloggers
  • Website
  • Congress
  • Sonia/Rahul Gandhi

That’s just a sample and it is not an absolute rule, but I can’t do the heavy lifting for you. God helps those who help themselves, etc. Just avoid blogs, and listen to your MPs and your cadre instead.

Yours truly,

Overlord

PS: I know that I am giving you advice via a blog too, but I am hoping that you’ll stop reading from NOW!

Leave a comment

Categories: Rant Tags: , ,
  1. May 19, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Err does that include me too ??

  2. May 19, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    @Gaurav: You mean in the BJP, or in the notable exceptions? No idea about the first, but I might include you in the notable exceptions – if you improved your blog’s template!

  3. May 20, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Dude you want me to remove the reason I blog in the first place, I mean why blog if I can’t obsessively click on sitemeter or technorati stats

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
